Curious Epicurean

Currently Obsessed: Java Chocolate Cupcake

Posted on: April 5, 2011

Forget the macaron trend. I'm not quite over the cupcake trend. (Photo courtesy of Kara's Cupcakes Facebook)

Food experts hailed 2011 as the “Year of the Macaron.” While I’m always excited for one more option for a sweet treat, I’m still solidly obsessed with last year’s cupcake trend. I joke that when I quit working in San Francisco, I knew I’d miss four things: food trucks, Blue Bottle Coffee, easy access to SF Giants games and an abundance of cupcake shops.

I love our cute little candy shops and neighborhood bakeries in Tri-Valley, but nothing quite eases my sweet tooth like a cupcake. I was thrilled when my number-one guilty pleasure, Kara’s Cupcakes, opened a location in nearby Walnut Creek.

This weekend after watching the San Francisco Giants’ first win of the 2011 season, I came across my latest Kara’s Cupcakes obsession, the java chocolate cupcake. It’s a chocolate cake with coffee-flavored icing and a chocolate-covered espresso bean. It’s to die for!

In just one afternoon in Walnut Creek I was able to enjoy 3 of my 4 San Francisco guilty pleasures. Now we just have to get working on the gourmet food truck situation.

1 Response to "Currently Obsessed: Java Chocolate Cupcake"

Ok now I am getting hungry! My family likes to visit Walnut Creek, the downtown area is very nice. We’ll have to drop by Kara’s and check it out.

Thanks for following me on Twitter, it’s always great to connect with local bloggers.

Enjoy your day,

Joe

Leave a Reply

Twitter

